bad design

Tigris Subclipse: Today’s Bad Design Award

I’m trying to get Eclipse today to forget the password I’ve set for an SVN repository.  No instructions in sight.  No use cases that describe how my desktop configuration is managed.  As usual, I find blogs and information that are not very helpful.

More importantly, the SVN plugin itself (Subclipse w/SVNKit @ http://subclipse.tigris.org/) doesn’t have a blatant and simple way to force configuration of passwords, keyrings, etc.  Instructions I found after looking for 20 minutes say I should delete a cache file in a directory that doesn’t exist on my Windows machine.

Dealing with this is robbing precious development time from a very tight development schedule.  And every time I have to do “just one more search” to find the information I need, I get more irritated.

It’s just …. bad design.

And now it's your turn ... comment here or on Twitter (@Androider)

