Android / Sprint

The HTC EVO 3D

I just picked up the HTC EVO 3D from Sprtint.  Got a sweet deal $120 rebate because I switched from another carrier.  I’ll spare you the normal verbose jargon that you’ll have to wade through in other blogs.  I’ve been developing Android apps since the G1 came out, and my conclusion about the EVO 3D:

The Evo 3D rocks.  It just rocks.

The 3D screen is a technical marvel in and of itself, and it’s easier on the eyes than even the Nintendo 3DS.  My biggest concern with the 3D screen was whether or not the touch screen would function well.  A friend of mine at Nintendo had told me a couple months back that one reason the Nintendo 3DS has two screens is because the 3D screen doesn’t do touch screen that well.  And that makes sense because after all the hardware used to display images in true 3D without glasses is fairly sophisticated.  Nonetheless, it functions extremely well on the EVO 3DS.

I look forward to the release of HTC’s new developer website to launch, http://www.htcdev.com/. I’ve read from other blogsters that HTC will actually publish a steroscopic API to take advantage of the 3D capabilities of the phone, but we’ll see what’s there. I don’t want to tout some API feature that may or may not release.

There was only one problem I had with the phone.  I got a radio error when trying to send SMS messages. A dialog box with this message kept popping up:

radio interference resource shortage

I went back to the store, and both the sales rep and I learned (what can I say, it’s a new phone for everybody) that this happened because I received a phone call before I got Sprint’s welcome phone call.  The Sprint welcome phone call clears the phone’s SOC code that it will function on the network properly.  So, if you see weird errors when you try to send SMS, go back to the store (or better yet don’t leave the store until you successfully send an SMS), and have the manager clear the SOC code.

I’ll blog more later when I have a chance to run the phone through its paces.

2 thoughts on “The HTC EVO 3D

  1. Actually, the easiest and best thing to do is to try and place a phone call–this will take you to Sprint’s welcome departmet and in less than 5 minutes–you will have a fully functioning phone.

    As a former call centre worker who did the Welcome calls, I can guarantee you that the store managers CANNOT clear the welcome soc for you. Unless they call in. So don’t waste time taking the phone to the store when you can get it functioning from the comfort of your home.

    • I wonder if things have changed then ??? The manager of the store in this case entered some data on his terminal. It wouldn’t be surprising to me if they can do it now because the carriers are always upgrading features on their internal software.

And now it's your turn ... comment here or on Twitter (@Androider)

